top of page
Search

Capstone

Updated: Jun 29, 2020

Studying and Living Abroad in England and Scotland.

In the summer of 2013 I had the incredible opportunity to study abroad for the summer in England and Scotland. While there, I took courses in English Literature and Twentieth-Century Art. I spent days exploring collections of art and artifacts in the Tate Modern and British Museum. I wandered through historic monuments, such as the Tower of London and Stonehenge. I bonded with locals in London's pubs and climbed mountains on the Isle of Skye.

Living abroad forced me out of my comfort zone every day. From the Curry Mile to the Scottish Highlands, I was surrounded by many different cultures and realities. Learning to view the world through these realities increased my mental flexibility, taught me to be fully present in the moment, and to value experience over things. Not only did I gain a much deeper understanding of different worldviews, but I also got to know myself on a profound level. Being surrounded by different belief systems allowed me to reflect on my own values and aspirations.


I've seen the wonders of the world, not yet one common man - Maya Angelou .

Studying and living abroad has impressed upon me not only the uniqueness of human beings but also the unique position in history that we all share. Never before have we had such access to what our fellow humans have to offer. Maya Angelou said it best, “I’ve seen the wonders of the world, not yet one common man.” I am committed to working towards a world where each human has the opportunities they need, not only to survive but to thrive. My experiences abroad have furthered this commitment and expanded it in ways I did not previously know were possible. Although no two of us are indeed the same, we all desire and deserve to be healthy and happy. In that regard, as Maya said, “We are more alike, my friends, than we are unalike.”



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page